Reading Challenge: Book Blogger Picks

After almost four months on the book blog circuit, I have yet to partake in any of the challenges out there.  Some of the challenges are pretty clever, but I’m going out on a limb, creating a challenge just for me, with your help.

For my own reading pleasure, I’m going to create a list of books to read based purely on blogger recommendations.  Anyone who’d care to comment is welcome to leave the title and author of one of your favorite books.  The book can be your all-time favorite read or just a book that you recently read and thoroughly enjoyed. 

I’m going to be reading across genres, so no fretting about that.  I’m just looking to generate some fresh titles and authors for my personal challenge.  Summer is fast approaching and I need some stuff to read while I lounge on the beach.

50 responses to “Reading Challenge: Book Blogger Picks

  1. My problem is this: you read so much that I feel like any suggestion is going to be met with “Yup, read that!”

  2. I think you should read Mudbound by Hilary Jordan – it is an quick read but a brilliant story.

  3. The History of Love by Nicole Krauss. Or if you’ve already read that, What is the What by Dave Eggers.

  4. Have you read any Diana Wynne Jones? Omg, you have to read something of her’s if you haven’t. Howl’s Moving Castle is a good introduction to her books, but my personal favorite is Charmed Life (to be immediately followed by The Lives of Christopher Chant— both of them are in The Chronicles of Chrestomanci vol. 1, btw).

  5. “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card

    and if you’ve already read that, then

    “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” that book is HILARIOUS.

  6. for the record, i haven’t read ANY of the books that have been suggested! thank you so much. keep them coming.

  7. Try “Written on the Body” by Jeanette Winterson. Definitely one of my favorites!

  8. I have about a billion favorites, but I’ll try and give you a slightly more obscure title – try “The Secret History” by Donna Tartt. But if you’ve read it, let me know, because I’m bursting with suggestions! 🙂

  9. If you want to sneak in a really quick but moving read, I’d suggest ‘The End of the Alphabet’ by CS Richardson. Especially if you like to travel.

    I reviewed it here

  10. Wise Children by Angela Carter.

  11. My favorite book is AND LADIES OF THE CLUB by Helen Hooven Santmyer. It’s a huge book – 1184 pages – and not a lot of action – more a character study of women from the late 1800’s through the early-mid 1900’s.

  12. My pick is Jane Eyre if you haven’t read it.

  13. I just read two really good ones (reviews on the way) The Help by Kathryn Stockett and Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Both were really good books.

  14. i have read ‘the hunger games’ and ‘jane eyre’, but all the rest are new to me! yay! i’m off to design an icon for my personal challenge.

  15. My all time favourite book is A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry.

    I’ve just created a similar challenge on my blog and the recommendations have been really good. It is going to be my favourite challenge by a long way. Good luck with yours!

  16. I’m reading Namako: Sea Cucumberright now and highly recommend it. I just finished The Hungry Ocean by Linda Greenlaw and loved that one too.

  17. I recently enjoyed Oonagh by Mary Tilberg. My favorite last year was The Gargoyle, but The Sister by Poppy Adams has proven to have surprising sticking power (though I consider it a good fall read–perfect for rainy days, tea, and a blanket on your lap).

  18. One Foot in Eden by Ron Rash.
    Still one of the best books I’ve ever read.

  19. Sorry, I can’t stop at one, especially since I don’t know what you have or haven’t read. I WILL stop at two, though :-). Both are pretty recent.

    My favorite book so far this year: The Uncommon Reader, by Alan Bennett.

    One of my favorite books of last year, just out in paperback: No One You Know, by Michelle Richmond.

  20. If you’re looking for the ultimate fun summer book, may I suggest The Valley of the Dolls. I consider it the quintessential beach read.

  21. I’d recommend The Help by Kathryn Stockett or if you’ve read that/want something fun, anything by Jasper Fforde.

  22. One of my fav’s from this year is One Deadly Sin by Annie Solomon. You should check it out!

  23. What a great idea. I’d suggest The Daughter of Time, by Josephine Tey and Wright 3 or Calder Game by Blue Balliet.

  24. I can’t do it. I just can’t. I have never signed up for one. I know that the second I commit to one, it will be like 437 and I will just die.

  25. Pingback: links for 2009-5-26 « Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog

  26. I’ll give you one of my all-time favourites and it’s Australian so you might not have read it.

    Cloudstreet – by Tim Winton – Great writing, great story, wonderful characters. A book to immerse yourself in, yet a delightful read as well.

  27. If I had to pick one book for you (which is really, really hard by the way! 😉 ), I recommend The Myth of You and Me by Leah Stewart. Parts of it reminded me so much of me and my BFF that I wrote post-it notes all over the book like, “Remember this?” or saying what she and I did like the characters, and then sent the book to her for her to reply. It’s good chick lit and a great character study.

    Probably more than you wanted to know! 😉

  28. I don’t know if you’ve already read it, but if you haven’t, my recommendation is The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King.

  29. I really like The Greatest Thing Since Sliced Bread by Don Robertson. It’s part of a trilogy…the other 2 books will be published at the end of the summer.

  30. Pingback: Off The Deep End: My Summer Reading Challenge « Book, Line, and Sinker

  31. I submitted my suggestions by secret ballot.

  32. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr. Good luck.

  33. “Clown Girl” by Monica Drake.

    (it was one of those ones where I felt like I needed to take a break before reading again… oh, and I cried.)

  34. Oh can I suggest more? The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros and Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel. Both short and perfect for summer. 😀

  35. Outlander! It’s definitely one of my favorites.

  36. Damn, I’m too late, aren’t I? Just in case: “Popular Music in Vittula,” by Michel Niemi is a fantastic choice!

  37. How about No One You Know? I know it’s already on your radar (I saw that you had commented on Wendy’s review at Musings of a Bookish Kitty), so consider this one more push towards reading it!

  38. Then We Came To the End by Joshua Ferris. It was one of my favorite books that I read last year – I borrowed it from the library and after finishing it had to rush out and buy myself my own copy, that’s how much I loved it!

  39. I’m sure you are getting inundated with suggestions!! I’m curious to see what books you’ll end up reading for your self-made challenge! I’m going to go with “The Time Traveler’s Wife” for you. And if you want to take a chance in what you read (and you are here), why not consider my new challenge — The Take A Chance Challenge — all about getting books to read via various random means. The link is here:

    http://findyournextbookhere.blogspot.com/2009/05/take-chance-challenge-sign-up-and.html

  40. Persepolis. Or maybe Special Topics in Calamity Physics.

  41. I would love to see you read Galway Bay or Gods Behaving Badly.

  42. I just read The Plague of Doves and loved it!

Leave a Reply

