‘Corner’ing the Market: My new favorite bookmark

bookmark hairtieA few months ago, I wrote a post about bookmarks in which I lamented the fact that I own dozens of bookmarks and don’t use any of them (see inset photo–that’s a ponytail holder, friends). Well, all of that changed with a simple gift from Erica, a thoughtful and crafty blogging buddy.  Apparently, she’s also an Origami master, if these bookmarks are any indication!

Behold, the most fabulous bookmarks ever!  Admittedly, they don’t look like much from this vantage point…but wait until you see what they do.

bookmarks close both

Do you see the sheer genius of this design?  The bookmark fits snugly on the corner of the page–a seamless bookmark.  The triangle opens like a little mouth and closes around the corner of a book page.  When the book is closed, the corner-hugger doesn’t jut out of the book or damage the spine.  These bookmarks are my new favorite thing.  I just had to share.

bookmark corner close

Oh, and I finished my first book of the ‘Off the Deep End’ Summer Reading Challenge!  Only 29 more to go.

***UPDATE: Erica was kind enough to crete a diagram clearly illustrating how to create these fabulous bookmarks for us!!!  Click HERE to view.  Thanks, Erica!***

25 responses to “‘Corner’ing the Market: My new favorite bookmark

  1. I have the same bookmark problem, and I often end up using various papers as bookmarks.

    These corner-bookmarks though are pure genious! I want one! How can I get one?

  2. I do like the bookmarks. Perhaps she would come on your blog and show us how to make them, so we can all have a go or even a competition for us to win one. They are very good.

  3. Those do look great. My son loves these little metal arrows that clip on the page and mark the exact line he stopped at. I wish I could remember what they’re called.

  4. Oooo! I agree! I want one!

  5. these look great. I love it! I like these as well as the metal line bookmarks that I have…though those metal ones will sometimes get lost in the metro system.

  6. Those are pretty sassy! If you want to do the ghetto version, you could always cut the corner off an envelope.

    You’re welcome.

  7. That bookmark is awesome! I don’t really use them routinely, but if I had such a neat one (that was easy to store as well!) I very well might!

  8. My favorite bookmark is the type that is made of metal and looks like a hook.. it hooks over the spine and the ones that I have do not damage the book in any way.

    Those origami ones look pretty cool though.

  9. LOL at the hair band. I use whatever is on my nightstand. The other day it was an empty M&Ms bag. 🙂

  10. Oh my goodness! Those are so cool, and I love the paper too. Pans, forget being a biologist rockstar. Time to “corner the market” on corner bookmarks. PUN INTENDED!!

  11. Those are definitely awesome! I’ve seen some similar ones on Etsy, but they’re much bigger. I like the petite-ness (is that word?) of them — excellent!

  12. those are so cute! My new favorite bookmarks are a similar concept. They are these ones from B&N:
    http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Home-gift/Black-White-Assorted-Dog-Photo-Magnetic-Page-Clips/e/9780641814440/?itm=15

    They are little magnetic clips and the magnet is actually really strong! I really love them. Plus I don’t lose them when I’m reading since they just stay attached to the book instead of being laid down somewhere or falling out of my book.

  13. Wow! Everyone seems to like them so much. I wish I could claim credit for inventing it, but I learned it ages ago and have no idea who created the design.

    They’re a snap to make and I couldn’t imagine charging cash money for them, so I took the liberty of diagramming the procedure. Just click on the link and give it a try. If for some reason you have trouble , just let me know and I’ll see if I can get you through it.

    You can of course use any paper but scraps of wrapping paper might be the easiest way to make a decorative number.

  14. These look amazing – I don’t normally use bookmarks, but I’d definitely use these ones (I’m one of those dreaded corner-turners). Erica, thanks for the link – I’m off to take a look and see if I’m crafty enough to make some of my own!

  15. I noticed a couple of very minor mistakes in the original diagrams which probably wouldn’t have ruined your attempts, but I redrew them anyway; the new link is here. Just in case it isn’t obvious, start with a square piece of paper.

  16. I wish I were so talented. I have just taken to grabbing business cards, sticks of gum and anything else that I can stick in between pages to hold my place.

  17. I love these! Thanks, Erica, for the instructions, although I’m not sure I understand them. I’ll try and see what happens!

  18. I tried it and it worked like a charm. Thanks again!

  19. Wow, now I want one…or ten.

  20. Pingback: Bookmark Bookmarks 5 June 2009 | Bookmark Collector

  21. Those are totally cute!

  22. Adding to their awesomeness is the face that there is nothing for a nosey cat to become interested in (like a yarn tassle). So, I would avoid the aggravation of finding it laying next to the book instead of on the correct page.

    More often than not, I end up using a piece of junk mail or a random receipt as a bookmark.

  23. Pingback: BBAW: Me and My Reading Habits – And a Giveaway! - Ms. Bookish

Leave a Reply

